Fact Sheet

In September 1997, the Oklahoma Floodplain Managers Association (OFMA) adopted a program for the certification of floodplain managers. The program is designed to certify competency with the basic principals of sound floodplain management as mandated by the National Flood Insurance Program.


Applicants wishing to obtain the initial designation as a Certified Floodplain Manager, must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Be an active member of OFMA
  • Completion of FEMA accredited Floodplain Administrator training course
  • Minimum education of High School diploma or GED
  • Submit a completed application Packet
  • Pay an application fee
  • Obtain a passing score on the Certification examination

Once an individual obtains certification, it will be necessary to annually perform the following activities for re-certification:

  • Continue OFMA membership
  • Submit a “short form” application
  • Submit documentaion of Continuing Education Credits (16 CEC’s in a 2 year period)